top of page

Let's talk attendance, WKU


WKU Football wrapped up home games this past Saturday, defeating North Texas 45-7 with a whopping 16,239 fans in attendance.

Now before I go any further, I must add a disclaimer before the technicality police hop onto their computer chair, and become keyboard warriors…

This article is not directed toward those who do not like football, those who have children playing high school ball and have a game or tournament they must attend, those who live 4+ hours away from Bowling Green, KY, those who need to study for an exam, those getting married the day of a game, or those having their top-left wisdom tooth removed the day of a game.

Yes, I must include this disclaimer because people clearly never know who I am addressing when I discuss attendance issues. No Barbara*, I am not talking about you and the fact that you need to attend your son’s underwater basket weaving contest in Dunkirk, Indiana. The people I am describing are those who consider themselves WKU Football fans, but find every excuse and then some to not attend a game. Again, I am not addressing reasonable absences (I feel like I will have to repeat this clarification 10 more times throughout the article).

*Not directed toward any woman actually named Barbara.

I ran a poll on my Twitter account asking followers why they did not attend WKU Football games, and the top reasons, in order, are as follows:

1. Blowout wins

You are joking, right? You leave a game or do not attend at all because WKU Football is winning by too large of a margin? This is like #firstworldproblems, but for football. Sure, I understand that you may have other engagements and a sizable, comfortable lead opens up an opportunity to leave. However, I really doubt that 1,000 fans are leaving/not attending because they are all going to Aunt Jean's birthday party at Cracker Barrel...

When WKU Football was 0-12 or 2-10, the excuse was: "We will attend when we start winning."

WKU starts winning.

"We will attend when we reach a bowl game."

WKU makes their first bowl appearance in 2012.

"We will attend when we win a bowl game."

WKU defeats Central Michigan in the Bahamas Bowl.

"We will attend when we crack the Top 25."

WKU ends the 2015 season as #24 in the nation.

So you are telling me the new excuse is "We will attend when we are not blowing out teams?" Against FIU, a group of girls sat behind me who said - among many other frustrating comments - that they wished WKU Football would keep the score close and entertaining: "Like, big wins are not fun to watch. I really wish it would come down to the last quarter." I could write an entire article on their statements and "revelations" made during that game, but I digress.

The Golden State Warriors absolutely dominated last year, but people still watched them. Alabama has played four games this season in which they won by 30+ points, but people still watch them. Can you honestly hear an Alabama fan say "You know, I wish we would have kept that Kent State score to more like 21-17...?"

To be serious for a moment, blowout wins are beneficial on multiple levels. They can help in a team's national ranking, local/regional/national exposure, statistics, attract recruits, attract bowl games, and attract conferences. Here is the reality...for those of you who are head over heels for a P5 team, let me direct you to the College Football Playoff Top 25. Although there is much that goes into those rankings (strength of schedule, record, etc.), the talking heads of ESPN noted that Louisville may have not cracked the Top 4 - as many had speculated they might - for many reasons, including their performance against Wake Forrest, Virginia, and Duke. What do those games have in common? Louisville only won by an average of 16.3 points and allowed Wake Forrest to lead until the fourth quarter. Despite 6 outright, blowout wins, the committee was not impressed with those three games, even using the phrase "were not blowout wins." Hmmm, I am starting to think blowout wins are important...

2. Weak opponents/conference

I actually understand this one; however, it has never deterred me from showing support for the Hilltoppers. This one is black and white to me. 1) As fans, we have no control who the team plays. 2) As fans, we cannot pick up the team and move them to another conference. I mentioned in a previous post that attendance matters when moving conferences (and bowl games). A lot of fans choose to complain about the conference rather than attend an entertaining WKU Football game. You want WKU to move conferences, knowing that attendance matters, but choose to not attend, anyway...quite counterintuitive...

3. Attended other team's games

The age-old argument of "Tops or Transfer" (much credited to the Willie Taggart era, @TopsorTransfer, and many other Twitter accounts)...

It is an oldie, but a goodie. Obviously, I am pro "Tops or Transfer."

There is not much I could say that has not already been said. However, I would just like to point out that, I have heard numerous supposed "fans" - students and people in the Bowling Green community - complain about WKU's ticket prices (free for students), game times, parking/transportation, etc...I hop onto Facebook/Twitter/Instagram, and whad'ya know?! They went to a UK, Louisville, Alabama, or Tennessee game, instead. Soooo as protest to WKU ticket prices, game times, parking/transportation, these "fans" spend $45 on a game ticket, wake up at 6am, drive 3+ hours, and probably spend loads of money on gas?

Rather than helping your community and (if you attend(ed) WKU) your school, you chose to support another program through your contributions of a ticket purchase/parking pass/food and attendance. Butttt that is none of my business...

4. Parking/Transportation

The frustration that comes with parking/transportation is something that I am 99% sure most college campus' feel on game day. Although I am a little confused regarding this "issue." There are many free lots on game day (free lots in green):

Which makes me wonder if walking is the actual problem. If so, here is my response:

It is that easy! Park at South Campus (for free), ride the shuttle to the game, and take the shuttle back to South Campus.

5. Game Time

Just going to shut you down right here, right now.

Do NOT complain about game times when we went from 11:00AM in 2015 to 2:30PM, 3:30PM, 4:30PM, 6:00PM, and 7:00PM game times in 2016. What more do you want?! 5:46PM?

6. Rather watch on TV

If we are being completely honest, yes, I believe it is pretty convenient to watch a game from home. I like to keep to myself, but I become a hot head when someone around me is acting like a fool (*cough, girls behind me asking who "Feex" (Jimmy Feix) was and claiming that the offensive line is irrelevant to a game, cough*). Trust me, I 100% understand the appeal of sitting on a couch, eating all of the hot wings in the world, and no one bothering you.

Everyday, we have our nose glued to our phone, computer, or tv. We do not look up and we miss all of the wonderful, exciting, and fun experiences around us. A Mike White touchdown pass to Taywan Taylor on tv will NEVER amount to the real thing: in person, waving the Red Towel, watching the fireworks, and inhaling the aroma of cinnamon roasted almonds.

 

WKU Football has established a winning culture: 6 straight winning seasons, 3 bowl appearances, 2 bowl wins, 1 conference championship, and a Top 25 finish. The program has responded by accomplishing everything fans have demanded...every...single...time. The "excuse clock" is running out of time.

Between 2012-present (5 seasons), WKU Football has seen only a 5.966% increase in average home game attendance. The good news is, between 2014 (Jeff Brohm's first head coaching season)-present, WKU Football has seen a 13.17% increase in average home game attendance. What does this mean? WKU Football and Jeff Brohm & Co. have done a phenomenal job of entertaining, winning, and exceeding expectations. However, the team can only do so much; fans must do their part. Filling 83.4% of Houchens Smith Stadium is not enough, and avid WKU Football fans have overheard recruits' parents commenting on the lack of attendance and lack of community support.

Our time is up for the 2016 season. The only hope left for one last home game would be if WKU beats Marshall (11/26) and Louisiana Tech loses to Southern Miss. (11/25); the latter is very unlikely. We had our chance.

I talk a big game and I sarcastically call out fans who have poor excuses, but the truth is I do not have all of the answers. I have ideas and plenty of them. Do I think fans are to blame? No. Do I think marketing is to blame? No. We have, roughly, 289 more days until the 2017 home opener against Eastern Kentucky. I am not one to practice laissez faire. I like to make things happen. If you have ideas or inputs, message me. Heck, if you were one of the fans I described in this article, message me and let me know what you think would encourage fans to consistently attend more games. Let's talk. Let's begin packing the Houch 289 days early.

Best wishes,

A WKU alumna and lifelong WKU fan

**Better show up to some basketball games or we are going to have the same talk...**


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page